Question: What Order Should Diskworld Books Be Read In?

Your Discworld Reading Order: This Is How To Tackle Pratchett’s Series

The Discworld is a remarkable fantasy series in which each book takes place on the flat Discworld, on the back of a turtle that floats through space, and its inhabitants work to improve their worlds or live their lives.

Traditional Discworld reading order

There are 47 books in the series, as well as several short stories and supplemental books such as The Science of Discworld, Where’s My Cow, and The World of Poo; the traditional Discworld reading order is listed here, and this is the order in which Terry Pratchett wrote them.

Suggested Discworld reading order

Instead, I read them in whatever order I felt like at the time, starting with Discworld (there are several different Discworld reading orders to suit different tastes).

The Rincewind Books

Rincewind is a reluctant hero who has no choice but to bluff all the time, and when cornered, he proves to be dangerous. He’s not my favorite character, but he’s a good one and compelling in his own right.

The Death Books

The Grim Reaper is forced to visit everyone because, as he sarcastically puts it, “There is no justice.” He appears in every book, commenting on the state of each person’s soul and death, and Death fights to reclaim his old purpose when the Auditors take his place.

The Witches and Lancre Books

Except for the one time she doesn’t, Granny Weatherwax owns the Disc, and the witches of Lancre, which include Nanny Ogg, Magrat, and later Agnes/Perdita, work hard to keep order on the Chalk.

We recommend reading:  How To Take Care Of Your Books? (Solved)

What is the best way to read Discworld?

The Rincewind Books are one of the most remarkable fantasy series ever created, but because it is so large, many people are looking for a better Discworld reading order.

  1. The Last Continent.
  2. The Last Hero.
  3. The Colour of Magic.
  4. The Light Fantastic.
  5. Sourcery.
  6. Eric.
  7. Interesting Times.

Where should I start with Terry Pratchett?

It’s never too late to begin exploring Terry Pratchett’s wonderful world.

  • Embark on a fantastic journey.
  • Incredible adventures with unlikely heroes.
  • Dive into the magic of Discworld.
  • Surprising short stories.

How many Discworld books are there?

There are 41 Discworld novels in total, published over 32 years, and while you can read them in any order, we’ve created two downloadable lists to help you fully explore the stories and characters of Discworld.

Is Discworld on a turtle?

The Discworld was carried through space on the back of Great A’Tuin, the World Turtle; however, the Disc does not rest directly on A’Tuin’s back; instead, it rests on the shoulders of four enormous elephants, Berilia, Tubul, Great T’Phon, and Jerakeen, who stand atop the turtle’s shell.

Is the Discworld series for adults?

While there is some adolescent-friendly humor (silly puns, body function jokes), the majority of the humor is mature, based on deep knowledge of human nature and society. I strongly encourage you to read it.

Do you need to read Terry Pratchett books in order?

No, you do not have to read them in order, but you should read each character’s story in order, such as the Rincewind books or the Sam Vimes stories.

We recommend reading:  FAQ: What Does Ss Mean In Series Books?

Is Terry Pratchett dead?

There’s No Wrong Place To Start Reading Pratchett: NPR. Terry Pratchett wrote so many books that it can be difficult to know where to start, especially with the lengthy Discworld series, but critic Tasha Robinson says there’s really no wrong place to start.

What age group is Terry Pratchett books?

It works perfectly – until they figure out their little con game. Ages 8 and up.

Can kids read Discworld?

The majority, if not all, of the quotes, misquotes, and outright take-offs of various cultures that make the discworld series so enjoyable to read would be lost on a twelve-year-old reader; however, the books are entirely suitable – no sex and very little violence – but best left until the child is a bit older.

Is the book Good Omens appropriate?

If you prefer your children to hear stories about well-behaved children, you should probably skip this one. The kids in this book are kind of disobedient and trouble-makers ala Dennis the Menace, so if you prefer your children to hear stories about well-behaved children, you should probably skip this one.

What is the best Discworld novel to start with?

The best Discworld books for newcomers are listed below.

  • Sourcery.
  • Hogfather.
  • Guards! Guards!
  • Mort.
  • Night Watch.
  • The Wee Free Men.

Is death in every Discworld book?

With the exception of The Wee Free Men and Snuff, Death has appeared in every Discworld novel, and had a possible cameo at the end of Johnny and the Dead (the character was not identified, but spoke in unquoted small caps as Death does throughout the series).

We recommend reading:  Where To Donate Law Books? (TOP 5 Tips)

What is the first Discworld novel?

We believe in the free flow of information, and Terry Pratchett once told me that his first novel in the series, The Colour of Magic (1983), was not the best place to start your relationship with the Discworld.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *