Arrive at least 2 hours before the scheduled departure time of your child’s flight and speak with a ticket counter agent.
Children traveling alone can’t check in online or at the kiosk.
You’ll need to fill out an unaccompanied minor form and any necessary Customs and Immigration documents for the day of departure.
Which airlines allow unaccompanied minors?
United Airlines Unaccompanied Minor Policies and Fees
Unaccompanied minor service is not available for children ages 15 and older. Young adults ages 15 to 17 may travel alone on any United- or United Express-operated flight.14 Jun 2019
What age can a child fly by themselves?
Airlines generally consider children between the ages of 5 and 14 who travel without a parent or guardian to be “unaccompanied minors.” For kids between 15 and 17, unaccompanied minor service is typically optional.30 Jan 2020
Can minors fly by themselves?
Most U.S. airlines will permit children who have reached their fifth birthday to travel unaccompanied. Children under the age of 5 must always be accompanied by someone at least 12 years of age flying in the same cabin (18 years of age on some airlines); airlines do not allow kids under 5 to fly alone.
Can under 16 fly alone EasyJet?
EasyJet does not accept unaccompanied minors under the age of 16. Children under 16 years of age cannot travel unless accompanied by a person aged 16 years or older who will take responsibility for the minor.
Who has the cheapest unaccompanied minor fee?
Alaska has the cheapest unaccompanied-minor fees, charging $25 each way for nonstop or direct flights and $50 for connecting flights. Southwest charges $50 each way; Frontier, JetBlue and Spirit charge $100 each way; and American, Delta, United and US Airways charge $150 each way.
What airline is best for unaccompanied minors?
Here are the Unaccompanied Minor policies for major North American airlines.
- Air Canada. Link: Air Canada.
- Alaska Airlines. Link: Alaska Airlines.
- American Airlines. Link: American Airlines.
- Delta. Link: Delta.
- Frontier Airlines. Link: Frontier Airlines.
- Hawaiian Airlines. Link: Hawaiian Airlines.
- JetBlue. Link: JetBlue.
What does a 13 year old need to fly?
Flying within the United States accompanied by an adult: The TSA and majority of airlines do not require children under the age of 18 to provide ID when traveling with an adult companion who has acceptable identification. This includes family trips when a child flies with his or her parents.
What are unaccompanied minors?
In immigration law unaccompanied minors, also known as separated children, are generally defined as foreign nationals or stateless persons below the age of 18, who arrive on the territory of a state unaccompanied by a responsible adult, and for as long as they are not effectively taken into care of such a person.
Can a 9 year old fly alone?
Age: 5 to 7 years old – non-stop flights only; 8 to 12 years old – Non-stop and connecting flights; Children under 5 cannot travel alone. Cost: $25 each way, per child (non-stop flights); US $50 each way, per child (Connecting flights). Flight restrictions: Travel may not begin between 9 p.m. and 5 a.m.
Can you fly alone at 16?
Children younger than 16 can still legally travel unaccompanied, but there are usually specific rules and procedure that need to be followed. Not all airlines will accept unaccompanied children younger than 14 years on their flights.
Can a 13 year old travel on a plane alone?
Minimum age for flying alone: 12 years old. Children 12-15 years old: May travel unaccompanied, however, an adult must sign the Form of Indemnity the day of flight departure at the airport check-in desk. Children without this completed form will not be allowed to fly.
How do I pick up an unaccompanied minor at the airport?
Arrive to the airport early. Review our suggested airport arrival times. Be sure to allow enough time to park the car, obtain your escort pass and the child’s UM lanyard at the ticket counter, go through security, and check in at the gate. Pets are not permitted to travel with Unaccompanied Minors.