What Are Some Books Like The Outsiders?

8 Compelling Books Like The Outsiders

Since its publication in 1967, SE Hinton’s debut novel The Outsiders has enthralled readers; written when she was only 16 years old, it is a favorite of many young adult fans. Check out these eight great novels that are sure to evoke similar emotions and cover similar themes.

That Was Then, This Is Now, by SE Hinton

That Was Then, This Is Now by SE Hinton is an obvious choice for fans of The Outsiders, as it follows two teenage boys, Mark and Bryon, as they live together in Tulsa, Oklahoma, after the death of Mark’s parents, and includes a cameo by Ponyboy Curtis, the protagonist of the first novel.

Rumble Fish, by SE Hinton

Francis Ford Coppola adapted SE Hinton’s 1975 novel Rumble Fish into a feature film in 1983. The book follows Rusty-James as he recounts the story of his early teenage years, exploring such dynamics as gang life and social standings, as well as bringing to light some more difficult teen issues.

The Catcher in the Rye, by JD Salinger

JD Salinger’s novel, The Catcher in the Rye, is considered one of the classic coming-of-age novels, and it has influenced many Young Adult writers. It is an excellent choice if you’re looking for a book with themes similar to The Outsiders.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, written by Stephen Chbosky in 1999, is one of the best young adult novels of all time, following Charlie as he begins his first year of high school following the suicide of his best friend.

Looking for Alaska, by John Green

Looking for Alaska, a 2004 novel by John Green, is being adapted into a Hulu miniseries. It follows Miles “Pudge” Halter as he transfers from a regular public high school to a small boarding school, and it explores themes such as teenage drinking, depression, grief, and loss.

We recommend reading:  How Do I Get Books On My Kindle? (Best solution)

Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell, is a fantastic choice for fans of The Outsiders, as it deals with bullying, domestic abuse, and body image issues, and has received critical acclaim since its publication, examining the privileges and security that wealth can provide.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie is a fantastic addition to any young person’s reading list, dealing with themes such as poverty, bullying, and coming of age, and is a great alternative to books like The Outsiders.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, by Mark Haddon

Mark Haddon’s 2003 novel The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a fantastic read that explores what it’s like to live with a social disability in great detail and empathy. There are numerous books like The Outsiders that can evoke similar feelings.

What books are like The Outsiders?

The Outsiders is one of eight books similar to The Outsiders.

  • That Was Then, This Is Now, by SE Hinton.
  • Rumble Fish, by SE Hinton.
  • The Catcher in the Rye, by JD Salinger.
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky.
  • Looking for Alaska, by John Green.
  • Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell.

What genre best fits outsiders?

The Outsiders is a “coming-of-age” novel that falls into the young adult fiction genre. In general, a coming-of-age story is one in which events lead the protagonists (protagonists) to experience psychological or moral growth as they transition from childhood to emotional maturity.

We recommend reading:  Question: What Is Arbitrage Books?

Why is The Outsiders a banned book?

Because of the portrayal of gang violence, underage smoking and drinking, strong language/slang, and family dysfunction, The Outsiders was a controversial book at the time of its publication, and it is still being challenged and debated today. It has been banned from some schools and libraries.

What literary style is The Outsiders?

Hinton uses slang, dialogue, and repetition in The Outsiders to create an informal style that is a realistic representation of how teenagers in 1960s Oklahoma, specifically the greasers, communicated with one another.

What should I watch after the outsiders?

If you like The Outsider, here are 10 supernatural crime series to watch.

  • 10 Dark (2017 – )
  • 9 Kolchak: The Night Stalker (1974 – 1975)
  • 8 Awake (2012)
  • 7 Forever Knight (1992 – 1996)
  • 6 Miracles (2003)
  • 5 Castle Rock (2018 – )
  • 4 Millennium (1996 – 1999)
  • 3 Pushing Daisies

What should I read after the stranger?

The Stranger is one of eight books that are similar to The Stranger.

  • J. D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye.
  • Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.
  • Franz Kafka’s The Metamorphosis.
  • William Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying.
  • Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist.
  • Daniel Keyes’ Flowers for Algernon.
  • Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray.
  • Albert Camus’ The Myth of

How old is Johnny Cade?

Johnny Cade is a vulnerable sixteen-year-old greaser in a group defined by toughness and a sense of invincibility; he comes from an abusive home, and the greasers are the only family he has.

Is outsiders a true story?

The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton, is loosely based on real-life high school drama. Hinton began writing the book when she was 15 years old, and it was published just a few years later.

Who died in outsiders?

Bob Sheldon, Johnny Cade, and Dallas Winston are three major characters who die in the novel The Outsiders.

We recommend reading:  How To Get A Refund On Google Play Books?

Why is Green Eggs and Ham a banned book?

I, like many other parents, spent years reading Dr. Seuss books to my children, to the point where I can still recite pages from Green Eggs and Ham by heart; however, the Dr. Seuss company has decided to stop publishing a small number of their books due to outdated racial stereotypes.

What age is appropriate to read the outsiders?

It is the best film and story for people aged 13 and up.

What schools have banned the outsiders?

1986 – Wisconsin – Challenged at South Milwaukee schools for “common drug and alcohol abuse” and “virtually all the characters came from broken homes.” 1992 – Iowa – Challenged at Boone School District for smoking, drinking, and excessive violence and obscenities.

Why is ponyboy hesitant to cut his hair?

Ponyboy has a problem with this, telling Johnny that he doesn’t want to cut his hair because it took him a long time to grow it exactly the way he wanted it, and he doesn’t want to change it in any way.

Why didnt Johnny and ponyboy run away?

Pony and Johnny couldn’t move because they were so terrified of the Socs, so Two-Bit told them he’d be there soon, but it was too late; they were already on their way over when they saw them.

Who did Johnny say was gallant like a Southern gentleman?

Dally could have easily told on Two-Bit, but instead acted gallantly by taking the blame; in Johnny’s opinion, the courageous personalities of the Southern gentlemen remind him of Dally’s gallant, loyal character; Dally is courageous, brave, and heroic, just like the Southern gentlemen in the novel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *