Question: Books Like What Hitler Knew?

Anthony Read’s top 10 books about Hitler and the Third Reich

Thames has published Anthony Read’s book The Devil’s Disciples: The Lives and Times of Hitler’s Inner Circle.

1. The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William L Shirer

He was a brilliant and well-respected journalist who was present for much of the time, and it shows: erudite, thorough, and detailed, always lively and readable.

2. Hitler: A Study in Tyranny by Alan Bullock

It was first published in 1933 and is still as relevant today as it was when Bullock adapted it for a new generation 40 years later.

3. Hitler (2 vols) by Ian Kershaw

With the benefit of a half-century of international scholarship and research since Bullock and the other early biographers, Kershaw’s biography of Adolf Hitler may well be the ultimate version of Hitler’s life and the unique circumstances that made him possible.

4. The Past is Myself by Christabel Bielenberg

Personal diaries and memoirs that put a human face on the Third Reich’s story, such as Berlin Underground and The Berlin Diaries of Marie ‘Missie’ Vassiltchikov, are essential reading for anyone interested in learning about life under Nazi rule.

5. Inside the Third Reich by Albert Speer

Many consider Hitler’s memoirs to be the least offensive and repulsive of the Nazi memoirs, and they provide a fascinating glimpse into working with Hitler – but they should be read in conjunction with Gitta Sereny’s Albert Speer: His Battle with Truth.

6. Letters to Freya by Helmuth James von Moltke

Penguin Random House has published The Letters of Heinrich Moltke, a collection of letters written by the German resistance member on trial for his life after the July 20 plot, which reveal the archetypal ‘good German”s innermost thoughts and feelings, as well as his incredible bravery.

We recommend reading:  Readers ask: What Order Outlander Books?

7. The Face of the Third Reich by Joachim C Fest

Fest’s masterpiece is a series of separate essays on prominent figures, each of which is a psychological study of an individual linked to an examination of a relevant aspect of National Socialism and the Nazi regime – Ian McEwan, Adolf Hitler’s biographer.

10. The German Dictatorship by Karl Dietrich Bracher

Since its first publication in 1969, Wolfgang Bracher’s The Roots of the Nazi Phenomenon has been often imitated but never surpassed by subsequent scholarship in understanding the roots and causes of Adolf Hitler’s rise to power.

What is the best book to read about Hitler?

The best Hitler books

  • Konrad Heiden’s The Fuehrer
  • Brigitte Hamann’s Hitler’s Vienna
  • J P Stern’s Hitler: The Fuhrer and the People
  • Ian Kershaw’s The Hitler Myth
  • Joachim Fest’s Hitler.

Why is Hitler’s book banned?

In 2009, the Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs’ branch in St. Petersburg requested that an annotated and hyper-linked Russian translation of the book be removed from a historiography website, and on April 13, 2010, Mein Kampf was declared illegal due to its promotion of extremism.

Is Mein Kampf illegal in Germany?

Private ownership and trade of Mein Kampf is permitted as long as it does not “promote hatred or war,” and the lesser-known “Second Book” is legal to print and trade, but it is included in the Index.

How much is Hitler’s book worth?

NEW YORK: At an auction in the United States, a rare, personally inscribed and signed copy of German dictator Adolf Hitler’s autobiography ‘Mein Kampf’ is expected to fetch 20,000 USD. On the front flyleaf of the book, Hitler boldly inscribes and signs “Only in battle will the noble man survive!”

We recommend reading:  Readers ask: What New Testament Books Did John Write?

Is Harry Potter banned in the US?

“The curses and spells used in the books are real curses and spells that, when read by a human being, have the potential to summon evil spirits into the reader’s presence,” Reehil added.

Is it illegal to own Mein Kampf in the UK?

Mein Kampf e-books have also been banned, and Adolf Hitler’s author page has been deactivated; however, certain foreign language editions of the book are still available for purchase on Amazon UK.

Who gets the profits from Mein Kampf?

The Boston Globe reported yesterday (June 28) that American readers eager to read Adolf Hitler’s manifesto will soon be donating money to Holocaust survivors after the US publisher of Hitler’s Mein Kampf decided to donate profits from the book to Boston’s Jewish Family and Children’s Services to help Holocaust survivors.

What should I avoid in Germany?

While some of them may leave you scratching your head, we recommend that you avoid the following when visiting Germany.

  • Jaywalk.
  • Recycle incorrectly.
  • Show the Nazi salute.
  • Throw out bottles.
  • Drive on the Autobahn’s middle lane.
  • Be late.
  • Enter a home without shoes.
  • Walk in bicycle lanes.

What’s banned in Germany?

(Fact vs. Fiction) 10 Strange German Laws

  • It’s against the law to run out of gas on the Autobahn.
  • It’s against the law to work in an office without a window.
  • It’s against the law to tune the piano at midnight.
  • It’s against the law to keep urns at home.

What is illegal in Germany Internet?

Is streaming illegal in Germany in 2021? Streaming content that does not follow the proper copyright rules is illegal in Germany, such as 123movies or similar sites. Streaming services such as Netflix, Discord, Twitch, and YouTube, on the other hand, are completely legal to use.

We recommend reading:  What Books Does Dark Tower Cover?

Does a signed copy of Mein Kampf exist?

The swastika-embossed 1935 edition of Adolf Hitler’s Mein Kampf, which bears the Nazi dictator’s signature on the front fly leaf, was presented to former BBC and Oxford Mail journalist Peter Cadogan on a visit to Munich in the late 1930s and sold at auction for u00a317,000.

How many pages is Mein Kampf?

720 words

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *